Will I Get A Higher Mark If I Like The Book?

I’m kidding! I loved the book but I wouldn’t mind. I finished The Namesake and the ending is the best thing ever but we will talk about that later.

When Gogol marries Moushumi, I thought to myself, another boring cliche ending. I’m so glad that the author showcased that every other relationship is not perfect. Since I am suppose to analyse plot and characters through this blog, it’s important that I display the flaws of their relationship but I feel so guilty. It’s not my position and they aren’t real people! Somewhere in the world, someone can relate to a character in the book. It’s one of the reasons why I love reading and here goes something.

Image result for tea frog meme

To start off, “[the] assurance is important to her; along with the Sanskrit vows she’s repeated at her wedding, she privately vowed that she’s never grow fully dependent on her husband, as her mother has” ( Lahiri, 247).

I personally think Moushumi is afraid of becoming what her parents aspired her to be. She wants to escape from their expectations and not depend on her husband like the older generation of wives. She often sneaks out to eat alone or have lunch with her friend Astrid to assert her independence. She doesn’t want to repeat what she sees as her mother’s mistake but the vow she claimed to sets their relationship to failure when she pushes Gogol away.

“[When] the good news came she decided it was easier to decline the fellowship quietly, to file away the letter, not to bring it up” ( Lahiri, 246). She is being a mature woman by considering her husband and marriage. Unfortunately she made an impulsive decision because she was unhappy with Gogol and later divorces him.

It reminded me of Derek from Grey’s Anatomy. He is a talented surgeon and was offered multiple highly ranked positions at hospitals. He turned down the first offer and is constantly presented with the challenge of having a healthy balance between his career and life. This relates to how many people find it difficult to balance the two with increasing working hours. He obtains a position in D.C. as a chief neurosurgeon. He makes a sacrifice by leaving his family and friends from Seattle. Spoiler Alert: On his way back from D.C. to his home, he is hit by a car.

I was so surprised that Moushumi turned down that position because I would’ve ran the moment I received that letter. Moushumi is a Bengali female who grew up in a conservative household and choosing career over family is out of the question. I think the viewers would’ve thought it was weird for a white male to choose family over career because it’s not the norm!

It was interesting that, “it [reminded] her of living in  Paris- for a few hours at Dimitri’s she in inaccessible, anonymous” ( Lahiri, 264). It is similar to Gogol’s relationship with Maxine. She sees her affair with Dimitri as an escape from who she is. She has no obligations or responsibilities with him but it was strange that she denied her one year transfer in Paris so she can “stay” with Gogol.

I have to admit, I appreciate how Moushumi became the narrator near the end of the book. The life of a 1st generation Bengali female is drastically different from the life of a 1st generation Bengali male  due to misogyny in many South Asian cultures. As someone who is enjoying learning french, I liked how the reader got a perspective of France and the culture. Changing locations can definitely change a person and I’m hope to have that experience to fill my curiosity.

I loved how the book started and finished with Ashima. I was so proud of her! She is comfortable, happier, and independent after years of feeling out of place.

Can we talk about the ending? I was crying tears of joy. He showed the world that he doesn’t need a woman to be happy and is at peace with identity. He is enjoying the Bengali gathering he has always hated and reading the book his father gave him. I don’t know what is special about The Overcoat but I’m glad he is happy!

Reading this book made me wonder, where will I be in a couple of years? What will I do? What kind of person will I be. The unexpected events in life make it interesting. Whatever happens, I hope everyone including myself is living a peaceful and happy life.

P.S. If your live was a book, what type would it be?

 

Black Girl Confused Meme. Digital image. Know Your Meme. N.p., n.d. Web. 14 Oct. 2016.

Frog Meme. Digital image. Know Your Meme. N.p., n.d. Web. 14 Oct. 2016.

Lahiri, Jhumpa. The Namesake. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2003. Print

Ross, Ashley. Ellen Pompeo Explains Why Grey’s Anatomy Doesn’t Need McDreamy. Digital image. Time.com. N.p., n.d. Web. 14 Oct. 2016.

 

4 thoughts on “Will I Get A Higher Mark If I Like The Book?

  1. Can I get a higher mark too? Haha.

    Hey, Olaa. I agree that Moushumi could be afraid of becoming what she’s always been expected to be. I feel like thats a pretty common thing. If your parents tell you that when you’re older you HAVE to be a doctor, you aren’t going to want to be a doctor anymore.

    You say that changing locations can change a person, so what place in this world do you think would make you change the most? (If you can even answer that – I don’t think I’d be able to!)

    I agree that Gogol is enjoying his individuality, and he’s showing that he’s an independent Indian man who don’t need no woman!!!

    Oh gee, if my life was a book I think it would be something like a biography. My life doesn’t have unexpected turns that could make it a thriller, or a mystery-themed book.

    Great post Olaa! Glad you liked the book 🙂

    Like

    1. You’re right! I can relate with Moushimi because I want to do something that is unexpected but I have to climb these small mountains right now. I would love to live in an unpopular location where I can practice one of the languages I’m learning. Biographies are boring but the story doesn’t have to be true. I hope you get a good mark and sleep!

      Like

  2. OLAAAAAA! I’m only on season 3 of Grey’s anatomy!!! Does Derek die? WAIT HE BECOMES THE CHIEF? WHATTTT?! anyways lets yak about the Namesake…I really liked Moushumi in the beggining when we first met her at the age of 13? but then the more the story progressed I liked her less and less. I thought she would be the typical Bengali/Indian girl, I was getting excited to read more about her…but NO! she’s not..She has liked Americanized herself…BUT I really liked how she was bold, confident and independant. She showed what she learned from her Mom and was able to have a back up plan if things with her and Gogol didn’t work out

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I won’t spoil the show for you! I appreciate your thoughts because many of us think that she is a villian. Nobody is perfect and I share some similarities with her. Life is full of interesting plot twists!

      Like

Leave a comment